date and location:
17 June 2021

17th EUROFRAME Conference on Economic Policy Issues in the European Union

Climate change: economic implications, tools and challenges for policy-makers in Europe


Hosted by NIESR, London

17-18 June 2021


The EUROFRAME group of research institutes (CASE, CPB, DIW, ESRI, ETLA, IfW, NIESR, OFCE, PROMETEIA, WIFO) will hold its seventeenth annual Conference on Economic Policy Issues in the European Union online on 17-18 June 2021. The aim of this conference is to bring together academics, and policy oriented economists by providing a forum for debate on economic policy issues relevant in the European context.

The 17th Conference will focus on the challenges posed by climate change. Public opinion has changed and European policy-makers, businesses and the financial sector have started to recognize the importance of climate change and biodiversity on the lives of people and the economy. Climate action must stand at the core of long-term growth and infrastructure planning. How do policy-makers ensure that the costs and benefits of climate action are shared equitably at a time when multilateral frameworks have come under threat? Will strains posed by the Covid-19 crisis interrupt progress on climate action? We seek both empirical and theoretical policy-relevant papers. Areas of interest include but are not limited to:

  • Economic impact of climate change at the macro and local level
  • Evaluating macroeconomic benefits of biodiversity and ecosystem services
  • Climate change and the EU’s green deal
  • The role of climate change policy on innovation and infrastructure
  • The role of central banks, banks and the insurance sector
  • The fiscal implications of transition and physical risks
  • Delivering a green recovery from Covid-19
  • Modelling/mitigating disaster risks related to climate change


Keynote Speaker:

Professor Sir Partha Dasgupta, Faculty of Economics, University of Cambridge
Professor Rick van der Ploeg, Department of Economics, University of Oxford

Scientific Committee:

Christoph Badelt (WIFO), Marek Dabrowski and Grzegorz Poniatowski (CASE), Geraldine Dany-Knedlik (DIW), Lorenzo Forni (PROMETEIA Associazione), Klaus-Jürgen Gern (IfW), Dawn Holland (NIESR), Tero Kuusiand Markku Lehmus (ETLA), Eloi Laurent and Henri Sterdyniak (OFCE), Kieran McQuinn (ESRI), Gerdien Meijerink (CPB), Catherine Mathieu (OFCE, Scientific Secretary).

Local Organising Committee (NIESR, London):

Hande Küçük:

Dawn Holland:

Contact–Paper and Abstract Submissions:

Catherine Mathieu:, tel.:+33(0)1 44185437